Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota
If ASA actually wants that to be the official interpretation (in red), they should be a lot more clear about when the pitcher stops being a fielder. Is she still a fielder if she is exhibiting defensive indifference to a runner, as apparently was the case in the OP? Here is what the RS says:In the OP, I can see giving the pitcher and the runners time for the pitcher to transition from fielder to pitcher. That is the HTBT part of the OP. But, that is not the same thing as waiting until "the effects of the ball being put into play are completed." If that were the case, then R1 could just stand off 3B while F1 has the ball in the circle while the BR continues on to 2B.
|
Fielding the ball is a lot different from the ball being returned to the pitcher. I think in this case you can only go by if the pitcher attempted to make or feint a play per book rule. By no means am I saying, "oh, she received the ball, oh she left the base, deadball"! But, in this case the pitcher has the ball, she was not attempting a play, the OC yells go..go...go and the runner goes.
Personally, I think she had a play at home, but this was 12U rec, the pitcher has been watching or playing softball at least since she was 4. The catcher was not that good, and maybe she wanted to stop the runner from advancing to second.