View Single Post
  #54 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 13, 2009, 11:27am
KWH KWH is offline
Small Business Owner
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Portland Oregon USA
Posts: 520
Thumbs down Wrong!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ajmc View Post
A "covered up" player is one who begins a play as an eligible receiver (both by position and number) on the end of the line who is rendered ineligible, either deliberately or unintentionally, by the actions of another player, who takes a wider position on the same side of the line.

The "covered" player, although still eligible by number, would no longer be eligible by position as he is no longer on the end of the line.
AJMC- (aka AlinupstateNY)
You'll excuse me if I take the opportunity to point out WHAT YOU WROTE is poorly worded and misleading, and therefore, by NFHS definition, renders itself to be false and incorrect!

Source 2008 NFHS Rule Book Page 82 Football Fundamentals VII. Passes
1.A player who is eligible at the start of a down remains eligible throughout the down.

It is just not possible for a player who "...begins a play as an eligible reciever..." to then become "...rendered ineligible..."
__________________
"Knowledge is Good" - Emil Faber
Reply With Quote