Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
As you describe this play, I do not believe the LBR applies. A ball was put into play and there were still active runners. If you are going to effect the LBR, does that mean that the pitcher must stop playing at this point?
I know there are purist out there (even though the LBR is not part of it) who believe the LBR should be in effect ANYTIME the pitcher has the ball in the circle. I disagree.
The purpose of the LBR is not to stop play, but to control the game between plays.
|
Irish...Thanks for the "food-for-thought". In this case I saw the pitcher receive the ball look at the runner at third, and judged her not to attempt a play at home. She had the ball for a good 2 to 3 seconds before the BR took off.
My only question back to you is; If you don't call the rules as written (call it being a purist) are you not penalizing the other team?