View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 08, 2009, 03:18pm
mbyron mbyron is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spence View Post
One more variation:

Batter requests time by holding up his hand, not granted, but he does NOT step out of the box. Pitcher stops his motion when he sees the batter's hand up.

Balk?
No.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rule 6-2-4-d
If the pitcher, with a runner on base, stops or hesitates in his delivery because the batter steps out of the box (a) with one foot or (b) with both feet or (c) holds up his hand to request “Time,” it shall not be a balk. In (a) and (c), there is no penalty on either the batter or the pitcher. The umpire shall call “Time” and begin play anew.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote