Quote:
Originally Posted by Simbio
First, thank you to all who replied to my original question. I thought the snapper had to be set prior to snapping as well, I just wanted to be sure.
Second, my mind must really be rusty on the rules. Isn't the restriction on the motion man only requires him to be 5 yards behind the line of scrimmage at the snap if he is to receive a handoff? Isn't he allowed to go in motion on the line of scrimmage or does he clearly have to position himself as a back prior to going in motion?
I know this is something I should know but for whatever reason it escapes me at the moment.
|
If an end goes in motion by rule he must be five yards behind the line of scrimmage irrepsective of whether he will receive a handoff. Unlike the NFL an end cannot go in motion on the line.
The current rule allows blocks below the waist and clips on the initial charge by offensive players stationary on the line of scrimmage and stationary at the snap and defensive players. At one point players who were in the 6 x 8 zone were allowed to BIBs and clips.
The restriction on the end was to make sure if the end went in motion he would be outside the free blocking zone at the snap.