View Single Post
  #33 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 06, 2009, 11:46am
NCASAUmp NCASAUmp is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ref Ump Welsch View Post
I wonder if it were actually allowed. As long as I've done U-trip ball, I've always known the rule to be an out if they arrived at 1B with the bat in hand. Nothing forbids them from carrying it up the baseline, just they have to drop it before they touch the bag. I know NSA (when a certain city around here was using their rules) didn't prohibit carry the bat beyond 1B, but that was 10 years ago, so I'm not so sure about them anymore.
USSSA Rule 7-4-G:

Quote:
A Batter-Base Runner Is Out under the following circumstances: When, after hitting a fair ball, and while the ball is still live, the Batter-Runner carries the bat and touches first base or runs beyond first base while carrying the bat. Note: If this action results in the 3rd out of an inning, no runs shall score.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote