Quote:
Originally Posted by dash_riprock
Doesn't say the ball can't become dead before then. And I still go back to 8-3-2: "...the umpire shall award the obstructed runner and each other runner affected by the obstruction the bases they would have reached, in his opinion, had there been no obstruction..."
Had there been no obstruction, the ball would never have entered DBT. I think that permits me to disregard the 2-base award.
I'm off to the doc, back later. This is a good one.
|
Backward logic again, dash. The guideline of "what would have happened" applies only to the question of where to put the runners. Since the base award in the OP is NOT for obstruction, but for sending the ball into DBT, this guideline is moot.
Why are you so eager to protect the defense from their own violations? Haven't they committed 2 in the OP?