View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 24, 2000, 05:03pm
Lee Jones Lee Jones is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Posts: 17
Send a message via ICQ to Lee Jones
Question

I heard about this play the other day....Team A, down by 7 points late in the 4th period, has one time out remaining. They run the ball on second down, and then request a time out. The side official thought they were out of time outs, and would not allow it. Team A then spikes the ball to stop the clock on third down (54 seconds remaining). At this point Team B calls time out. The officials came together and the side official was told that Team A had one time out left. The back judge told the referee that there was 1:09 on the clock when the T.O. request was made. The referee, using the "definite knowledge" clause, resets the clock to 1:09, and then erases the 3rd down spike play. His rationale was that the only reason that Team A spiked the ball was to stop the clock, which they should have been able to do using the time out that they still had.

Comments???
Reply With Quote