Thread: Is this a balk?
View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 28, 2009, 08:14pm
mbyron mbyron is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Balk. By moving toward home before stepping and throwing to first, F1 fails to step directly toward the base.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rule 6-2-4
ART. 4 . . . Balk. If there is a runner or runners, any of the following acts by a
pitcher while he is touching the pitcher’s plate is a balk:
...
b. failing to step with the non-pivot foot directly toward a base (occupied or
unoccupied) when throwing or feinting there in an attempt to put out, or
drive back a runner; or throwing or feinting to any unoccupied base when
it is not an attempt to put out or drive back a runner;
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote