| 
			
			Fielder’s Choice: A fielder fielding a ground ball and attempting toput out a preceding base runner rather than the batter-runner at first when
 a throw to first base would have put out the batter-runner.
 
 A hit is credited to the batter when:
 
 On a ball that reaches the outfield untouched by an infielder, unless
 the ball should have been handled by an infielder with ordinary effort
 (e.g., ball between the legs).
 
 (Source; NCAA 2009 Softball Rules and Interpretations)
 
 So, there is a decision that needs to be made in the OP. Could the ball have been played upon by an infielder? Could the outfielder have thrown the BR out at first? If there could have been no out at first, no matter what, then the batter is credited with a hit and F7 is credited with a putout. That seems to me to be the most likely outcome of the OP.
 
				__________________Scott
 
 
 It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
 |