View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 03, 2009, 11:24am
Ref Ump Welsch
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim D. View Post
I agree no KCI. NF Case Book 9.2.3 C is a similar play although it covers a pass behind the line and not a kick. However, the contact is the same as in the plays presented.

A1 is passing to A2 who is behind the line. Before the pass reaches A2, (a) B1 tackles A2 or (b) B1 blocks A2. Ruling (a) Tackling A2 is a form of holding. Defensive players are prohibited from grasping an opponent other than the runner. (b) the contact is not PI and, if the block itself is legal, there is no infraction. (7-5-10)
So applying the principle from that case play, #3 from the OP could be holding because R22 has yet to touch the ball, no?
Reply With Quote