
Wed Apr 01, 2009, 02:10pm
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Welpe
Interesting play! I'm trying to knock free the cobwebs on this one. I suppose that if the PU judges the batter was not offering at the pitch, the correct call would be interference on the batter? What if there weren't any runners stealing?
|
Not necessarily. It wouldn't be BI unless F2 were trying to make a play. Merely bumping him does not constitute interference. In the play I saw, you might get BI since R3 was stealing.
Still catcher's obstruction/interference. In the set play, the purpose of having R3 attempt to steal is not actually to steal the base, but rather to entice F2 into reaching over the plate for the pitch.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
|