Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin Finnerty
A strike is a strike. And if it's a strike, I call it a strike..
|
NBA referee, "And if it's a foul, I call it a foul."
"And if it's a traveling violation, I call that too."
Explain that position to them.
As others have said, it depends on the league. Coaches never ask about strikes. Try to explain two inches outside to them. Keeping a batter alive after strike two and extending early innings are not good game management skill sets. It is the only reason an extended strike three exists. Most times it is better to let the pitchers duel it out. The catcher knows fairness is never a part of the equation. But do whatever feels best, good luck and good eyesight.