View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 25, 2009, 09:52am
Adam's Avatar
Adam Adam is offline
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by 181174 View Post
Yes, this is the correct call. Just not the popular call with the coach, since he/she will not understand how you can wave off a basket but still give the shooter 2 shots for being in the act of shooting. I have made this call probably at least 10 times over the years and I have yet to have a coach understand how this could be. Not a popular call but the correct call. If fouled in the act of shooting but without releasing the ball before the horn goes off, you can't count the basket but have to give the offensive player 2 shots with the lane cleared to end the quarter or half in this instance.
There is an exception to this. The rule says it doesn't count if it's not released before time expires. It does not say it doesn't count if it's not released before the horn sounds.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote