Quote:
Originally Posted by asdf
In the original video, insert a foul committed against the "thrower" and you (correctly) are going to kill the play because you judged A was passing the ball.
The pass has no chance of entering the basket no matter if he was fouled or not, therefore 2 points are correctly awarded, not the 3 that you propose.
|
I don't propose it, it's the rule. 5-2-1: "A successful try, tap,
or thrown ball from the field by a player who is located behind the team's own 19-foot 9-inch arc counts three points." The case play, 5.2.1 Sit C has A1
throwing the ball (not necessarily a try), contacting the defender inside the arc, and 3 points are still awarded.
Of course, Camron and I have been discussing what the intent of the committee was when this rule was changed. You might want to go back and read this thread all the way through, so I don't have to go through it all again.