View Single Post
  #32 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 18, 2009, 03:43pm
Publius Publius is offline
Is this a legal title?
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by bossman72 View Post
This is how it would happen with a PIAA evaluator in the stands (PIAA uses FED mechanics book as standard): ...

That's something how the convo would go (if that ever were to happen). I don't like it, but that's how it is.
That doesn't change the fact that the guy using the FED mechanic is to blame for the missed call. The PIAA evaluator might disagree, but given the circumstances he's wrong. The PU's mistake would have been conducting a pre-game based on CCA mechanics, not "missing" the call at third after having done so. That's assuming working PIAA playoffs carries more weight with him than than adhering to what was agreed upon in a pre-game, and if that's the case I'd ask him the question Rut raised.

Your particular play will no longer be a point of departure between the two before too much longer, I'm guessing. With the NFHS now having the base umpire make the call on the second play in the infield, I have hope that they'll soon move to the 21st century on this one, too.
Reply With Quote