FED 3-1-1 Penalty:
PENALTY: If the starting pitcher does not face one batter, he may play another position, but not return to pitch.
FED 3-1-2
................ A player may be removed as pitcher and returned as pitcher only once per inning, provided the return as pitcher does not violate either the pitching, substitution or charged conference rule. If the pitcher, because of an injury or being incapacitated, is replaced as pitcher and the above rule is not satisfied, or if his replacement requires more warm-up throws than permitted in 6-2-2 exception, he cannot return to the game as a pitcher.
FED 3-2-3
ART. 3 ... Any of the starting players may be withdrawn and re-entered once, including a player who was the designated hitter, provided such player occupies the same batting position whenever he is in the lineup. The pitcher is governed by the provisions of Article 2 above. A substitute who is withdrawn may not re-enter. A starting pitcher who is replaced in the top of the first inning while his team is at bat shall be governed by the provisions of Articles 1 and 2 above.
2008 FED Casebook (Sorry, didn't get a new one yet)
3.1.2 SITUATION A: F1 is replaced by S1. The catcher or coach of the defensive team indicates to the umpire-in-chief that his team wishes to grant an intentional base on balls. Following the intentional base on balls, S1 is replaced by S2.
RULING: That is legal, since S1 has faced the necessary one batter.
3.1.2 SITUATION B: While taking his warm-up pitches prior to the start of the fourth inning, F1 develops a blister on the tip of his index finger and is replaced as pitcher. F1's replacement takes (a) the remaining number of warm-up pitches
due starter F1, or (b) more warm-up pitches than starter F1 was entitled.
RULING: In (a), F1 could re-enter as pitcher. In (b), because F1's replacement took more warm-up throws than F1 had remaining, F1 could not re-enter as pitcher.
3.1.2 SITUATION C: In the top half of the first, S1 pinch hits for F1. In the bottom half of the first inning, F1 (a) re-enters to face the first batter or (b) does not re-enter until later.
RULING: A substitute may replace F1 while his team is at bat without penalty. Since F1 is a starter, he shall re-enter and pitch to the first batter in the bottom of the first inning. In (a) F1 has complied with the rule. In (b), since F1 did not pitch to the first batter, F1 may not return to pitch. He may, however, play another position. (3-1-1, 3-1-3)
************************************************** ***
I hope that the above will help this discussion. It's all I have time for at work today.
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out!
Ozzy
|