Quote:
Originally Posted by ILMalti
If a player throws the ball off their own backboard why would TC end unless it is a try? and if this is the case why does it matter what backboard the ball is bounce off?
reference : 4:31(Pass); 4.12( control, player,team); 6.7 (dead ball)
Thanks
|
The rules specifically state that throwing the ball off the opponent's backboard is considered the same as a dribble. There is no such restriction on their own backboard.
Traveling occurs when a player moves his feet outside prescribed limits while HOLDING the ball, If I throw the ball off my backboard, I'm not longer holding it, am I? Therefore, I can run all I want and I can retrieve the ball. It's not traveling and it's not an illegal dribble.
Unless the rules state something is illegal, it's not. There's no rule that prevents a player from throwing the ball off his own backboard. Therefore, it is legal.