
Sun Mar 15, 2009, 06:22pm
|
#thereferee99
|
|
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 624
|
|
Quizzicle Quomments
From the article:
Quote:
With 0.3 seconds remaining on the clock, Cal was awarded possession just beyond its bench. Junior guard Lauren Grief lobbed the ball to Walker, who appeared to haul in the pass and score as time expired.
But the play was far from cut-and-dry. The officiating crew of Bob Scofiled, Brenda Pantoya and Chuck Gonzalez huddled together to review it for nearly 11 minutes before wiping off the basket. Cal coach Joanne Boyle claimed she was given no clarification for the decision. She didn't say whether she intended to protest the call, only that she'd like to speak to the head of officials.
"There was no explanation," Boyle said. "They just ended the game and walked off the court."
According to Scofiled, the rule is clear.
"At the three-tenths of a second, you can only tip at the basket," he said. "We determined that it was gathered and that the shot was no good. We wanted to know if the clock had started on time to make sure everything was good."
|
Why does it matter whether the clock started on time, if you are ruling that the player caught and then shot?
Article Link
__________________
-- #thereferee99
|