Thread: Pass Or Try
View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 15, 2009, 01:33pm
BktBallRef BktBallRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by ILMalti View Post
Good day all

A1 releases ball towards the basket. Ball hits side of rectangular backboard and bounces back towards A1.
A1 catches the ball and starts a dribble towards basket.

Play is let to continue. Coach yells "travell" ; hence this question

So 2 situations are possible here

if A1 was shooting for a basket : No call (since TC ends (4.12.3.a))
if A1 was passing the ball via a lob : violation (TC still 4.12.2b)

If the above 2 statements are correct, would the call be based upon the official discretion and playing experience?

and if my speculations are wrong couls someone explain why (rule reference will help me too)

Thank you
Read the definition of a pass. There's no such thing as a pass to one's self. A pass is, by definition, to a teammate.

A player can ALWAYS throw the ball off his own backboard and catch it or recover it. It's nothing, perfectly legal.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote