Quote:
Originally posted by Rev.Ref63
I was working two-man last night with a veteran (23 years) official in Missouri. He was lead, he called a foul on the baseline. I thought it was a shooting foul so I instructed the players to line up. After reporting the foul, he said it was non-shooting.
The coach questioned whether or not his player was shooting so he (my partner) came to me and said, "I had the foul on the floor. What did you see?" I simply stated, "I'm not going to change your call," and I put the ball into play without further argument from the coach.
From my angle, it looked like the foul occured during the act of shooting, but I was out in the trail position.
Question:
1. Should I have over-ruled him since he asked, or did I do the right thing?
2. When is it proper to over-rule?
|
First of all, it is not your job to overrule anyone. So take that terminology out of your head and mouth. Your partner is an equal part of the team. He made the call, you have to live with it. Maybe he saw something that you did not. But it is not your job to overrule any of his calls. All you can do is give information and if he changes it, that is up to him. But if you are doing that on a regular basis, I might start to question what are you missing?
Peace