Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota
I can find no ASA rule to anything EXCEPT declare the ball live and wait. It is a lack of a rule that lead to this. There is no reversed call, so ASA 10-3-C can't be used. The D3K is covered by the rules, so the "god" rule (10-1) is not applicable. The umpire just screwed up by calling TIME. So, uncall TIME and wait. I guess.
As to Fed, the case play seems to provide a workable ruling for this situation.
|
I don't believe the case play is on point. Nothing in the case play has happened in the OP. It doesn't provide us with any solution to this problem. She hasn't left the field of play, the defense hasn't left the diamond and there has not been another pitch. So 8-2 doesn't apply. This has been a good debate. I've enjoyed it, but I can't agree with your ruling.
Edited to Add: I must amend my previous solution. I can't make the ball live until I have a batter in the box. I guess I'd call the BR back into the box, announce I have 1 ball and 3 strikes and hope someone notice the count and does something. If not then I tell the pitcher to pitch. Then if she pitches, declare the batter out and nullify the run, then explain it to the coach and possibly have to send him home early.