Thread: Federation play
View Single Post
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 13, 2009, 01:08pm
rwest rwest is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 1,050
But these don't apply

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota View Post
No, actually I did not propose a solution; only pointed out that, in my view, 10-2-3-m is not it.

Actually, what MGKBLUE says is correct. Rule 8-2-4 plus Case Play 8.1.1-A, Ruling (2).
The BR never entered dead ball territory so 8-2-4 doesn't apply. Case Play 8.1.1-A part 1 also doesn't apply for the same reason, she didn't enter dead ball territory. Part 2 doesn't seem a likely solution either. The umpire called strike three. Are you going to let the pitcher throw another pitch to this batter? The BR was still standing there probably because she either forgot the pitch count or didn't realize a strike was called. She apparently thinks she is still at bat. In fact in every scenario in this case play the batter thinks she is out and forgets she can run to first and then realizes it latter or is trying to fake out the defense. In the OP it appears the batter is just clueless.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association
Multicounty Softball Association
Multicounty Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote