Thread: Federation play
View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 13, 2009, 11:54am
Dakota Dakota is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
... the defense being put in jeopardy by mistake ...
Sticking to Fed...

The rule specifically says "rectify any situation in which an umpire’s decision that was reversed has placed either team in jeopardy." (10-2-3-m)

What umpire decision was reversed? Calling TIME is not a decision in this context. The case book gives these examples of a reversed decision:
10.2.3-D inadvertent OUT call results in player tagged out.
-F, -G, -H "Ball 4" call reversed with checked swing appeal.

In the OP's case, there is no call that was reversed. Only an untimely TIME.

Besides, I would even argue that the defense was NOT put in jeopardy here.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronald View Post
...Umpire lets the dust settle, ...
Apparently, the defense had no intention of attempting to put the BR (not batter) out.
__________________
Tom

Last edited by Dakota; Fri Mar 13, 2009 at 11:56am.
Reply With Quote