Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
As long as the thrower has one foot over the spot, the ball bouncing outside the spot would not be a violation.
|
We had a discussion about this, and I should have worded it differently. If it bounces away from where he can reach while maintaining his spot, it's a violation. You could argue that they still have the opportunity to request a timeout if the 5 second count has not expired, but given the NFHS rule/case/interp on a free thrower fumbling the ball away, I have to think they want us to call this violation immediately.