View Single Post
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 10, 2009, 06:06pm
IRISHMAFIA IRISHMAFIA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu View Post
B. Bounds over or past first or third base, which is in fair territory, regardless of where the ball hits after going over the base.

Is the colored portion of the double-base NOT first base?
Not in fair territory as required in your reference above.

Quote:
We both know that if the ball hits 1B in the middle, it's a fair ball. My point is that a ball can hit the orange part of the base [and the white at the same time] and will be ruled fair. The rule says if it hits the colored part of the base, it's a foul ball. This is false.

Ted
Read both definitions. A ball hitting the white meets the qualification of a fair ball, yet the definition of foul does not include or refer to the double base at all.

8.2.M.1&2 are both true statements. Yet for an umpire to make determinations and apply rules, s/he must consider the entire book, not just a specific word, line, sentence or paragraph alone.

A ball which does hit or bound over the orange portion only is a foul ball since that portion of the base is in foul territory (2.3.H) and at no time did the batted ball meet the qualification of a fair ball as set forth in Rule 1.

Lacking any qualifying statement in the definition of a foul ball involving the double base, a ball which hits ANY portion of the white must be a fair ball.
Reply With Quote