Thread: Women's bonus ?
View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 05, 2002, 10:32am
rockyroad rockyroad is offline
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,776
You are correct in both plays...however, you won't find it in the rule book - at least not spelled out in black and white like you are looking for...the key is that the new rule applies to the team in possession for a throw-in, and then go back to the definitions of when a throw-in ends...the throw-in ends when it is touched by or touches a player on the court...so in your Play #1, the throw-in had ended, but no one had team control, so we have a common foul and will shoot the bonus...in Play #2, the throw-in has not ended, and so we still have "possession of the ball for a throw-in" and so we will not shoot...the way it was explained at our meeting was that if the shot clock/game clock are running (which happens as soon as ball is touched on throw-in), then there must be actual control - if they aren't running, then the throw-in is still continuing...hope this helps...
Reply With Quote