Case play for NCAA Womens Case book
Here is an case play in support of your OP:
A.R. 84. A1, after:
(1) Receiving a pass; or
(2) Ending his/her dribble, passes the ball to A2. Before receiving
the pass, A2 leaves the area on a cut to the basket. A1 goes
to the area vacated by A2 and recovers the ball.
RULING: In order for a pass to occur, the thrown ball must be
touched by another player. This did not occur in (1) or (2).
(1) A1’s attempted pass was the start of his/her dribble. When he/
she recovered the ball and started another dribble, he/she would have
committed a violation. (Had A1, after releasing the pass, which was
the start of the dribble, not recovered the ball but rather continued to
dribble, it would not have been a violation.)
(2) A1 had previously ended a dribble before his/her attempted pass
to A2. A1’s release of the ball on his/her attempted pass to A2 was the
start of a second dribble. When A1 recovered the ball he/she ended
the dribble. A1 committed a violation after he/she touched the ball.
(Rule 4-21.2 and 9-7.1.c)
Hope this helps.
|