Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac
My son sent me an email tonight about a call that he disagreed with in his graduate school intramural game. I replied to him with this rule:
NFHS Rule 7-2-1: The ball is caused to go out of bounds by the last player in bounds to touch it or be touched by it, unless the ball touches a player who is out of bounds prior to touching something out of bounds other than a player.
I was able to answer his question with the first half of the rule, but then I realized that I have no idea what the second half of the rule (in red), means. What does this mean? Can you give me an example? I'm sure that it's an easy explanation, I'm just having this mental block.
|
It covers situations such as these:
7.2.2 SITUATION: A throw-in by A1 (a) strikes B1 who is inbounds and
rebounds in flight directly from B1 and then strikes A1 who is still out of bounds;
(b) is batted by B1, who is inbounds and the ball is next touched by A1 who is
still out of bounds. RULING: A1 caused the ball to go out of bounds and it is
awarded to Team B at that spot for a throw-in for both (a) and (b).