I'm new at the NFHS thing - just took the apprentice exam this past weekend. I know ASA allows for the runner to run inside the line on plays being made from foul territory. I can't find a reference for a similar exception on the NFHS side. [And they don't do PDFs for their rules and case books making lookups more difficult.]
My visual of your situation is that F3 is standing on the white portion and reaching across the colored base to take the throw. If that's true, she probably should have been on the colored portion of the base and reaching out into foul territory for the throw. This could alert the BR as to where the throw is coming from and which base to run to. I think I would have had OBS in this case. Sounds very similar to one of the questions we had on the test.
The dropped third strike is always a bit tricky for the BR because they might not know from which angle the catcher will attempt to make the throw. F2 might run inside the diamond or opt to move to foul territory.
Ted
Here's what I found:
ASA
E. When the batter-runner runs outside the three-foot lane and, in the umpire’s
judgment, interferes with the fielder taking the throw at first base; however,
the batter-runner may run outside the three-foot lane to avoid a fielder attempting
to field a batted ball. When the defensive player uses the colored
portion of the double base, the batter-runner can run in fair territory when the
throw is coming from the foul side of first base, and if hit by the thrown ball,
it is not interference. If intentional interference is ruled, the runner is out.
NFHS BR is out when
8-2-5… She runs outside the three-foot lane and, in the judgment of the umpire, interferes with the fielder taking the throw at first base (there must be a throw); however, the BR may run outside the three-foot lane to avoid a fielder attempting to field a batted ball. A runner is considered outside the running lane if either foot is completely outside the lane and in contact with the ground.
|