Quote:
Originally Posted by FeetBallRef
Folks, A few more questions & hopefully I'll be a happy camper.
If the Fielder leaves their feet in fair territory and catches the ball over the fence and then lands over the fence in dead-ball territory, it is still a catch correct???
|
Assuming there is no question with the "catch" (different discussion), a fielder is still considered in play and available to make a legal catch as long as neither foot is completely in contact with DBT. If any part of the foot is in contact with the "out of play" line, the player is considered in play for the purposes of making the catch. ASA 1.Catch.A.3
Quote:
If the Fielder reaches over the fence to catch the ball, the ball hits the heel of the glove and the ball then comes back over the fence in fair territory and hits the ground, it is a fair ball that is in play like any other ball hit into the outfield, correct???

|
Assuming this occurred between the foul poles, yes it is still in play. If outside the foul poles when touched, it is a foul ball regardless of where it lands when it returns to the field of play.
Speaking ASA (and probably just about every other rule set)