View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 25, 2009, 01:49pm
SamIAm SamIAm is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Irving, Texas
Posts: 675
Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee View Post
The ball is live. If the FTS is displaced significantly, call a push, especially if the ball rebounds to that location.

Having said that, a foul in this situation is very very rare. (I have never seen it called.) So instead of being the guy that rings this one up, talk to the players before calling it.
I don't think the ball is live here if I understand the OP. I think he is talking about the 1st shot of a multiple shot free throw. Since the players can't enter the lane until the ball touches the backboard or rim, I would think the freethrow would already be successfull or a miss (unless the ball is rolling around the rim) by the time the player enters the lane and gets to the freethrow shooter to box them out. All this on a freethrow that will result in a dead ball whether it is successful or not.

As for the OP, if the dead ball contact is severe enough call the T. But I would caution against that as I am not aware of others doing so. As far as unsporting, my tolerance level for them is low and really shouldn't be used as a comparison.
__________________
- SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity)
Reply With Quote