
Mon Feb 23, 2009, 12:34am
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 390
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac
"Well, here's another nice mess you've gotten me into." (Oliver Hardy, 1930)
Is this the same official from the original post? If so, what part of one of this season's Points of Emphasis did he, or she, not understand?
4. SLAPPING THE BACKBOARD. The incidents of players slapping the backboard are increasing throughout the country. The rules specify that “intentionally slapping or striking the backboard” is a technical foul (10-3-5). The spirit and intent of that rule is to penalize a player for drawing attention to him/herself or as a means of venting frustration. A player who strikes the backboard in a legitimate attempt to block a try for goal should not be penalized. Basket interference cannot be ruled in either of the above situations. Basket interference only occurs if the ball is interfered with while in the cylinder above the basket ring or by touching either the ball or any part of the basket while the ball is on or within the basket (4-6).
|
Don't score the basket. 2 FTs and the ball.
|