View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 22, 2009, 03:08pm
HoopsAnnouncer HoopsAnnouncer is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1
Charging + count the basket

Hi,

I'm a college basketball announcer. I saw a play yesterday which I've never seen before and want some clarification on the rule.

Player A1 sprinted to the lane, hit a leaner, and then was called for a charge. I initially thought they were waving off the basket.

It turns out they gave him the basket and the foul, Team B's ball.

What is the exact rule here? I couldn't find it anywhere in the rule book (NCAA.Org).

Also how common is a play like this?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote