Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee
Play: City Semi-Final, 4th quarter, 0:46s left. Team A losing by 4; ball in frontcourt. T is table side, L opposite side. Ball goes OB on endline, about 5 feet inside the 3-point line on the table side. T is 28 feet away (slightly above the 28' hash mark). One player from each team goes for the ball; no player closer than the other (from what I can tell). L calls for help and T gives the thumbs up to use the arrow.
Arrow points to Team B.
A bit of confusion since the L after asking for help, signalled in Team A's direction. (He didn't do it because he changed his mind on the call.) T explains to Team A coach that the L pointed in error, and explains how the help mechanic works.
T is about to slide over to opposite side as the new L for Team B's backcourt endline throw-in. Team A #20 walks right by the T (new L), says out loud, about 8 feet from his own coach, and says while looking right at the T (new L), "What are you, stupid?" While saying this, he gives a gesture of a few fingers pointed to the temple on his head, and swirls his fingers.
Thoughts?
|
First of all the L should make a call, unless the ball is coming from above the foul line (which is not the case). But if he asks for help he should do nothing, leaving all signals to the T. A jump ball is really the last choice.
It's the L who should say he pointed in the wrong direction, after a brief huddle. Otherwise this could appear an overrule by the T to a decision of the L.
That said, #20 awarded himself a T. And, I should add, the L awarded a poor evaluation (lack of concentration in the last minute

) The T was not in a correct position: he should have been at the foul line extended, I believe, at least if using FIBA mechanics.
Ciao