View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 21, 2009, 10:07am
IRISHMAFIA IRISHMAFIA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by kfo9494 View Post
First let me tell you this was junior high softball and neither schools will be playing for titles in 2009.
Runner on third base, batter hits pop-up near the third base dug-out. The base coach has already told the runner to start home if the ball is hit. The base runner takes about three steps off the base. Now the base coach is yelling "GET BACK", now instead of walking back to the base she falls toward the base with her hand touching the base and the rest of her body down third base line.
The third base player is so slow to react that she is looking up and and then trips over the baserunners legs, that are at least four feet from third base,but the hand is still on the base.

Thanks goodness the ball hit the top of the dug-out. But I was thinking, what if she had a chance to catch the ball. I know the baserunner has the right to the base, but is she released from all violation if she is touching the base and it was not intentional?
Not sure about HS, but in ASA this is pretty much umpire judgment as to an interference call, but based upon the last two sentences of RS 33.A.1.c, I would not call this INT.
Reply With Quote