View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 17, 2009, 02:12am
just another ref just another ref is offline
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by agelof View Post

Ref puts team B's star player at line.
It is a technical foul for a player to knowingly accept a free throw to which he is not entitled. But who can say what the player knew or didn't know. Even when the wrong shooter goes to the line, and is replaced by the officials with the correct shooter, it is difficult to call the technical in this situation. If, as per your quote above, did the officials put him at the line, or did they simply accept whoever stepped up to the line? If they put him there, it can be nothing more than an officials mistake, and a done deal. If the wrong player stepped to the line, intentionally or otherwise, and this was not immediately addressed by the official, from a rules standpoint it's still a done deal.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote