Thread: Is this right ?
View Single Post
  #56 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 13, 2009, 12:17pm
Dakota Dakota is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota
Yes, but since ASA has now placed the direct requirement of having the hands separated into the rule, I assume the IP (DDB) signal goes out at that moment, right? Do you nullify the call if she disengages (I assume so, but it would then lead to a discussion with the OC, I'd expect...).


However, in this case it is not DDB. As I said earlier, some IP do not require a dead ball (NFHS 6-1-1, 6-2-2, 6-2-3), so the IP is immediate, the ball is dead immediately.
What I have gathered so far is the following (assuming the reported statements by a couple of the members of the NUS are correct):

If the pitcher steps onto the plate with the hands together, this is an illegal pitch that cannot be remedied. The DDB signal is given, and the pitch is allowed to complete (assuming the pitcher completes it), and the penalty is assessed as normal after the pitch. If the pitcher stops the pitch or attempts to step back off the plate, a dead ball is declared and the IP penalty assessed.

Right?
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote