View Single Post
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2009, 01:54pm
mbyron mbyron is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by dahoopref View Post
What you have here is an Intentional Technical foul.

The ball is dead due to the ruling of the jump ball. When a contact foul is made when the ball is dead, it is automatically an "intentional technical foul." It does not matter if the officials ruled the foul accidental or not. 2 shots for the offended team and they get the ball at the half-court. There is no POI in this situation.
1. No. It could be a flagrant T. And not all contact when the ball is dead is a foul (ignored if not flagrant or intentional).

2. If the contact was "accidental" in the sense of not intentional or flagrant, then it does matter: don't call the foul.

3. There is always a POI on every whistle, though it is not always relevant to how to put the ball back in play.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote