Thread: Quick question
View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2009, 10:10am
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrojanHorse View Post
Forgive me for not explaining well, twice in the game, while guarding the inbounds i had two different kids reach across the line and make contact with a pass. That wasn't my question. I asked for a time out before they shot. The official told me I had to wait because they had to do things in order of they occurred. It didn't seem right, but it wasn't a big deal, I was just wondering.
If your description is precise, then the officials kicked two rules.

1. The defender is allowed to break the boundary plane and contact the ball AFTER the throw-in pass leaves the thrower's hands. (Note: the defender can't touch an OOB pass between teammates on the OOB side of the boundary plane during an end line throw-in following a made or awarded goal. That's a T.)

2. Did your players receive a T each time or only on the second time? There shouldn't have been a T or a DOG warning either time, but I'm just curious.

3. You are allowed to request and be granted a time-out during the dead ball prior to any FT by either team as long as it's not the second time-out following the expiration of time in the fourth quarter or an extra period.
Reply With Quote