Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
We discussed this play a while ago. Jurassic said that it was a traveling violation for failing to release the ball on a pass or try after going airborne.
His case was supported by an old NFHS ruling that Bob Jenkins posted.
2000-2001 BASKETBALL INTERPRETATIONS
SUPPLEMENT #1 (11/9/00)
SITUATION 1: A1 is an airborne shooter preparing to release the ball on a shot attempt. Instead of releasing the ball on the try, A1 fumbles the ball (while still in the air) and drops it. A1 then returns to the floor and secures possession of the ball. RULING: Traveling violation. While airborne the ball must be released for a try or pass. (4—43-3a; 94)
The NCAA has a different ruling.
A.R. 85. After ending a dribble, A1 leaves the playing court to attempt a
try for goal. While airborne, A1 fumbles the ball and:
(1) Recovers the fumble while airborne; or
(2) Recovers the fumble after returning to the floor. A1 dribbles the ball. The official calls a violation. Is the official correct?
RULING: Yes. In (1) and (2) A1 is permitted to recover the ball but after recovering the ball is not allowed to start another dribble. However, if a fumble is touched by another player and then recovered by A1, while airborne or after a return to the floor, A1 is allowed to start another dribble. If A1 had not previously dribbled the ball, and while airborne fumbled and recovered the ball (while airborne or after a return to the floor), he/she is permitted to start a dribble.
(Rule 4-21.4.a, 4-31.2 and 9-7.1.c)
|
Had this play last night. And this time it happened with 2.1 seconds left in a tie game. I called a travel. My partners and I (plus another official in attendance) had a long discussion about it after the game.
A1 went up to shoot a floating 3-pointer, lost the ball while in the air, returned to the ground and caught the ball.
(BTW, the reason I asked the question in the
OP was because I had a play Friday night where A1 went back up with an offensive rebound, lost the ball while in the air, caught the ball while in the air, and then landed. After I called a travel A2 protested that he had caused the ball to come loose with his shoulder.)