View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2009, 12:43am
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by bas2456 View Post
A2 was in the air when he initially touched the ball. From my perspective, it looked like he had control and made a try at the goal. The ball didn't hit anything, and the same player caught it. Hope that clears it up a bit.
Under NFHS and NCAA rules a player can only be called for traveling WHILE HOLDING THE BALL (except for that one case book situation that prevents a player from circumventing the rule about getting up from the floor).

By your description, the player gained control of the ball while he was airborne. He is certainly allowed to return to the floor with the ball, so why would you think that he wouldn't be allowed to return to the floor without the ball and then get it afterwards? In short, whether the action constitutes a try for goal or not doesn't matter. The play is legal anyway.
Reply With Quote