View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 25, 2002, 09:28pm
ChuckElias ChuckElias is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by DrakeM
Thanks Chuck.
Thinking more about this play, the ball HAD been released by the thrower.
Drake, I know we usually talk NCAA and NF, but by the NBA book (or WNBA book) does it matter if the ball has been released? I don't have my Q&A with me. Even if the throw-in has been released, would it still be considered an away-from-the-play foul? I just can't remember if the away-from-the-play provision ends when the ball is released or when it is touched inbounds.

Quote:
even though we don't want to be over-officious,
we also can't be afraid to make the tough call when it is the RIGHT call, and needs to be made, NO MATTER WHAT THE TIME AND SCORE IS! IMO
Couldn't agree more. Well said.

Chuck
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote