View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 09, 2009, 04:25pm
eg-italy eg-italy is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Italy
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ref_in_Alberta View Post
If Team A recovers in their b/c, I say yes it is a violation under the "last to touch / frist to touch" concept. FIBA does have an exception to an interception leaping from the f/c and landing in the b/c but I believe that this would not apply in your snitch...
The exception you are mentioning has nothing to do with this case. There must be team control in order to have a "ball returned in the backcourt" violation. As JugglingReferee points out, knocking away the ball from an opponent can never be qualified as team control.

The conditions for a backcourt violation are exactly the same in FIBA as in other rule sets: (1) team control; (2) last to touch in the FC; (3) first to touch in the BC. Only if all three conditions are met for the same team, then a violation has occurred. In the OP's case, team control belongs to team B, so the last touch in the FC by a player of team A is irrelevant.

Probably the case should have been presented with A and B reversed.

Ciao
Reply With Quote