View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 04, 2009, 10:50am
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amesman View Post
What would you do in the following scenario:

Team B is trailing and pressuring full court. A1 struggles to inbound ball from the endline after a made basket. Coach A rises to call TO but pass is in air - toward division line. As A2 catches pass, yep, Coach A still wants TO. Whistle blows to grant it, but just after whistle, a legitimately hustling B2 crashes into A2 (too late for the steal, obviously).

What's the call? It's dead ball contact but not necessarily intentional or flagrant (as in 10-3-7). Most times I'd say I've got nothing/incidental, but if you have A2 flattened or otherwise plowed into ... ?
You're correct that the ball is dead. Dead ball contact is ignored unless it's intentional or flagrant (or by or on an airborne shooter).

So, why the question? Just enforce the rule.
Reply With Quote