Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
I'm going to apply the case in 10.something called "A specific unsporting act" (or something like that).
|
Bob,
As usual, spot-on: 10.1.8.
A SPECIFIC UNSPORTING ACT
*10.1.8 SITUATION: Immediately following a goal or free throw by Team A, A1
inbounds the ball to A2 and A2 subsequently throws the ball through A's basket.
RULING: The following procedure has been adopted to handle this specific situation if it is recognized before the opponents gain control or before the next throw-in begins: (a) charge Team A with an unsporting technical foul; (b) assess a delay-of-game warning for interfering with the ball after a goal;
(c) cancel the field goal; (d) cancel any common foul(s) committed and any non-flagrant foul against A2 in the act of shooting; and (e) put "consumed" time back on the clock.
COMMENT: If there is no doubt the throw-in was a result of confusion, the entire procedure would be followed except no unsporting team technical foul would be charged. A team technical would be assessed if the team had received a previous delay warning. This procedure shall not be used in any other throw-in situation in which a mistake allows the wrong team to inbound the ball. (4-47-3; 10-1-5d)
This situation basically wipes out the MISTAKE by Team A if there is no doubt that the throw-in was the result of confusion. In this case, even if the situation is not recognized until after the fact: cancel the field goal, cancel non-flagrant fouls, AND put time back on the clock.
To be consistent, it may be wise to modify the rule to be the same for an official's mistake as it is for a player's mistake. Since we already have to know this rule, it would seem that it would be easier for us to know that for any throw-in, if the wrong team takes it -- regardless who made the mistake -- we can fix it.