View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 22, 2009, 09:11am
Da Official Da Official is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: TX
Posts: 241
A foul is a foul. Since the play was at the free throw line extended both officials in my opinion have a right to make a call. Based on the angle your partner had he passed on the call. Based on the angle you had, you stepped up and made a call. A foul is a foul. The offending team is NEVER happy with a shooting foul called with seconds on the clock, but that's just the way it is.

When I began officiating in college long ago, I made these types of calls with seconds on the clock where most would not....but that's when I knew I had the guts to make tough calls at tough times.

It appears to me from listening to your story you made the right call based on what you saw and its judgment so it could be right or could be wrong but that's the life of a judge. What I would suggest though is to get closer to the action so that you can see the play better and be in position to sell the call better.

Peace
__________________
Da Official
Reply With Quote