Quote:
Originally Posted by kdf5
Robert, my argument is based on the following rules:
2-34-1...A ball in player possession is a live ball held or controlled by a player after it has been handed or snapped to him, or after he has caught or recovered it.
2-4-1...A catch is the act of establishing player possession of a live ball which is in flight, and first contacting the ground inbounds or being contacted by an opponent in such a way that he is prevented from returning to the ground inbounds while maintaining possession of the ball.
8-2...Possession of a live ball in the opponent’s end zone is always a touchdown.
The only rule I can't find is the one that says "possession is retroactive to when the ball was actually grasped by the airborne player". Please give me the rule number for that statement.
|
I disagree with a point RG makes. If the receiver goes up to make a catch while in the end zone, but his own momentum causes him to land in the field of play, he isn't given forward progress for a TD. According to Rule 2-15-2: "When an airborne player makes a catch, forward progress is the furthest point of advancement after he possesses the ball if contacted by a defender.
The case book supports this as well (Case 2.15.1): It is first and 10 for A at B's 12-yard line. A1 sprints near the end line and then buttonhooks. He jumps and possesses a forward pass while in the air above the end zone. (a) A1's momentum carries him back into the field of play and he lands and is downed at the 1 yard line; or (b) while in the air in the end zone, he is contacted by B1 and he then lands and is downed on B's 2-yard line. Ruling: In (a), it is A's ball first and goal at B's 1-yard line. In (b), it is a touchdown if the covering official judges the contact by B1 is the cause of A1 coming down at the 2-yard line, instead of in the end zone.
In discussing this case, we've also talked about the situation where the defender contacts the receiver and pushes him back into the field of play but the receiver is able to get away without being tackled. Because he is no longer engaged with the defender, forward progress does not apply and he must get back into the end zone to score.