Quote:
Originally Posted by shishstripes
If a player is falling before contact and then there is contact, I call a block. If there is no contact, tell player and coach flopping is a technical foul. Next time that team does it, whack them.
|
You're completely wrong, by rule.
If a defender has LGP, the rules will not allow you to call a block on that defender. The only applicable calls would be a PC foul or a no call. The defender is also allowed to protect himself from the charge. There's nuthin' the matter with falling backwards before contact. See rule 4-23-3(e)-"The guard may turn or duck to absorb the shock of imminent contact". The only thing that you judge if the defender had LGP is whether the actual contact was sufficient for a PC foul.
"Flopping" is defined as either having no contact or incidental contact. Iow, the defender is
faking being fouled. That's why it's penalized as a technical foul under rule 10-3-7(f).