Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Daryl ("Preacher" Long) and I had a game last Wednesday night and during our post-game dinner this type of play came up.
NFHS R10-S3-A3: "A player shall not grasp either basket during the time of the officials’ jurisdiction, dunk or stuff, or attempt to dunk or stuff a dead ball prior to or during the game or during any intermission until jurisdiction of the officials has ended. This item applies to all team members."
The blue and orange phrases in NFHS R1-S3-A3 are mutually exclusive.
The blue phrase deals with grasping either basket and Rule 2 defines a team basket and basket in this phrase has to refer to a team's basket. BUT, the orange phrase only refers to dunking or attempting to dunk a dead ball; it does not mention at which basket the dunk or attempted dunk must occur.
MTD, Sr.
|
So you're saying that the V boys could agree to mutually warm up at the wrong end of the court, and dunk all they want, and because they're not dunking at the proper warm-up basket, there is no penalty associated with this act?